I hope I’m not the reason

I hope I’m not the reason
That you’re so afraid, and stressed.
I hope you don’t think
That I don’t appreciate you.
I guess it’s my fault
Because I never say so
Because I’m so reserved
Because I feel like I can’t love.

I hope I’m not the one
Who brought you to this state
The feelings you have now.
The fear you won’t be able to pay
For all the things you need
In our capitalist society,
Feeling lost, like there’s no one to help.

I hope you don’t believe
That I never thought of
All the things you’ve done.
I’m sorry for never expressing it
But I don’t know, honestly,
What that would do now.

I don’t want you to lose
EVERYTHING
Just to try to get me
To express something
That I already feel.

I don’t want you to think
That I don’t want to repay you,
But in reality,
We know I can’t.

Most of all,
I hope
You can support yourself.

I hope for your sake, not mine
That you’ll be okay.

I wish you knew that.

Leave a Reply

